Maryland Acupuncture Society Board and Committees

Service on the MAS Board is open to any professional or student MAS member. Board members pay no membership dues and attend all MAS seminars for free! In addition, board members are given a travel allowance to attend conferences around the U.S.

Working with the MAS board is an excellent way to be of service to the acupuncture community, build professional contacts, and make a difference!

Click here for Board Position Descriptions

If you are interested in board service, contact the MAS board president by email at:

Current Board Members (updated March 2013)
Title   Since Term Election
President Tracy Soltesz March 2010 3 Spring 2016
Treasurer Edward Sweeney March 2013 1 Spring 2015
Secretary / Newsletter Editor Camille Klinker March 2012 2 Spring 2016
Vice President of Internal Affairs Emily Crum March 2014 1 Spring 2016
Vice President of External Affairs Colette McKie March 2011 2 Spring 2015
Vice President of Public Affairs (appointed until election) Belynda White March 2011 3 Spring 2016
Member-at-Large / Membership Chair Della Aubrey-Miller March 2011 2 Spring 2015
Student Liaison Candace Parsley March 2013 1 Appointed

Board members serve for a term of two years, and can serve for no more than 3 consecutive terms in the same office. Most officers begin serving appointed (App. in the chart above)by the board and ratified by the membership at the subsequent annual meeting to fill out a term where the existing officer has resigned mid-term. Official terms start in even numbered years for the President, secretary, VP of public affairs, VP of Internal Affairs, and in odd numbered years for the remaining officers. The Student Liaison is a special position appointed by the board.

Service on an MAS committee is open to any MAS member. Committee members receive a 50% discount on MAS continuing education seminars! Committee Chairs recieve a complementary MAS membership and attendance at MAS seminars.

The following committees are currently active:

Continuing Education Chair: Emily Crum
Legislative Chair: Colette McKie

For more information or to apply, contact the president of MAS by email at:

The MAS board and committees are governed by the MAS Bylaws. Members of MAS may request a copy of the bylaws from